Making Tracks: Central Park #1 (It’s For You)

Kyra Sims
13 min readMar 5, 2021

This is the first in what will be a series of walks dedicated to Manhattan’s backyard. It’s an ambitious project, but I’m excited to see how it grows and changes over the coming months. Happy to have you along for the journey!

I adore the dark cold months. Give me chimney smoke and hot toddies over sun and beaches any day. My lifestyle is pumpkin pancakes. My sexual orientation is hygge.

The only time the fall and winter seasons have been anything close to resembling a problem for me has been while trying to get out of the house early enough to do walks so I can keep writing this freaking essays. Usually I care not a whit about the comings and goings of our celestial yellow goddess, but in the context of my nocturnal lifestyle and this essay series, I feel she has abandoned me. How on earth am I supposed to stomp around New York City while listening to Arcade Fire and taking Profound Notes on my iPhone if the sun decides to dip at 4:30pm?? It’s a conspiracy of the spheres to undermine my art, I tell you.

Fortunately, my friend Michael came to my aid by suggesting a meet-up in the park in the early afternoon, a time when I am usually enjoying my first bleary-eyed cup of coffee. Having a dear friend expecting me was just the motivation I needed to get up and dressed and out into the blinding sunlight.

--

--